Question: When is an Internet meme not an Internet meme?
Answer: When your father comes upstairs to wake you up, announcing that Rick Astley is on television rickrolling America.

I’ve slowly gotten used to seeing Internet memes in real life. For example, I have seen someone grab a pear at a dining hall and ask “LOL WUT?” There comes a time, though, when a meme transcends the Internet and stumbles into popular culture. I say “stumbles” because, by then, it’s practically a walking corpse.

I can’t help but wonder what it must be like to be the person who came up with the idea of rickrolling. Did they ever imagine that they’d indirectly be the cause of this?

Really, I don’t think rickrolling can get any bigger than that. That’s it, people. We’re done. We’ve hit the ceiling; there’s nowhere left to go. Pack up your cleverly disguised URLs and move along.

