Bush, pictured here just before breaking out in tears over having a sewage plant named after him.

Bush, pictured here just before breaking out in tears over having a sewage plant named after him. Perhaps they should have used Joe the Plumber's name instead.

One of the best things about the Internet, besides the free music, the YouTube poops, and the blatant stupidity wandering everywhere just to be laughed at, is the ability to post your opinion whenever you want it. The only catch is, no one’s going to read it.

As a blogger, I feel it is my duty to represent the community accurately by spewing out my personal and impossibly trivial reaction to a news article, despite the fact that nobody cares about my opinion except me, and that’s only going to last for the next ten minutes.

Take a look at Jeffrey Scott Shapiro’s opinion article on America’s treatment of President Bush. Or should I say “get a load of”? I’m not going to refute him point by point. I openly admit that I don’t have the political knowledge, nor the patience to point out every stupid and downright embarrassing thing our President for the past eight years has managed to do. My argument is simply this: It’s not America’s fucking job to support what it didn’t like.

Since when have we had to do that? The origin of our country is based on us being pissed off, for heaven’s sake. It’s the American way to be unsatisfied with everything every way we turn, then either whine about it, make fun of it, or fix it. It makes me proud to be an American that I can disagree with Shapiro’s utter bullshit despite the fact that I have no standing or respect in the general community whatsoever. I can still do it. I can still be annoyed, and I can still express my opinion. I don’t have to sit around agreeing with everything someone higher than I says or does.

Of course, if you hope to get anywhere in life, you’re going to have to do that. A lot. Whenever you see someone little agreeing with someone big, you can bet they’re doing it because they want something. Makes me question why Shapiro decided to write that article at all. I don’t know anything about him either, but I know about human nature. You don’t support a dipwad like Bush unless you’re either an idiot – and if you’ve managed to get in the Wall Street Journal you’re probably not that – or you want to look good for some reason or other.

When you become President, you’re in the public eye. When you’re in the public eye, the public is not going to be nice to you. It’s going to complain. It’s going to find every bit of background information that suggests you’re not an angel and dredge it up. That’s what the public does. If you can’t handle it, don’t go into, I don’t know, public office?

One final thing – Bush has been made fun of for nearly all of this two terms. Honestly. Check YouTube. Newgrounds. Even “miserable failure” on Google used to show Bush as the first result. You’re complaining about this now, as he’s walking out of office? Or perhaps that’s the safest time to complain. After all, the person you’re throwing undying support towards no longer has the chance to fuck up.

