Let me tell you how The Frogs started.

It started something like this:

Our family likes the movie Young Frankenstein. We went to see the musical of Young Frankenstein, entitled Young Frankenstein so as not to confuse Broadway-goers. It was a decent musical with a decent soundtrack. I was like “Wow Mom, can I borrow your soundtrack to put onto iTunes?” and Mom was like, “Sure.” So I did.

Now, towards the bottom of iTunes is that thing that recommends you new songs and CDs and whatnot. The role of Dr. Frankenstein in the musical Young Frankenstein (as opposed to, say, the movie, Young Frankenstein) is played by a performer known as Roger Bart. So once, iTunes, in its infinite wisdom, recommended me another musical which also involved Roger Bart entitled The Frogs.

I’ve always liked frogs. When I was a kid, I used to play with Kermit the Frog all the time. My parents were surprised my hand didn’t turn green. I still own several Kermit the Frog puppets, as well as a poseable Kermit the Frog, and one that’s large enough to sit in a computer chair. I even have little rubber frogs. Frogs are cool.

So I was like huh, The Frogs. I like frogs. So I clicked on it and listened to some of the tracks. My conclusion on the music was “meh“, more or less. Then I looked it up on Wikipedia. I found out it was based on this play by this guy Aristophanes. So I skimmed the original play wondering what the hell the frogs were all about. Turns out, the frogs had like seven lines in the whole damn thing. I was heavily disappointed.

Still, I ripped off the idea of frogs in Hell and made it into a short story, of sorts. One that’s not quite done yet, but maybe a little time pressure will give me the motivation to finish.

Anyway, all I’m trying to say is, I’ll be posting bits of the story once a day. Twice a day is a bit too much. Talk about getting tl;dr syndrome. So here goes nothing: A part of The Frogs posted every day at 4PM. Why 4PM? Because it’s my blog and I can do that.

See you at four.

