I’ll never understand drugs. Why do people need to have chemicals flying through their brain in order to act stupid? Just act stupid, I say. And if you get in trouble, at least you won’t be caught with illegal substances in you.

There are plenty of stupid things you can do without drugs. Like, for instance, fold the world’s biggest paper airplane out of poster paper and toss it back and forth down a school hallway. Plenty of stupid, but entirely drug-free. Just make sure you don’t hit your future Philosophy teacher in the process.

What got me onto the subject of drugs was a comment by my fellow typing classmate Sean. Once, as we were struggling to survive through another session of typing class, he said to me, “Trees always win.”

Trees always win? I thought. And recently, I’ve seen it in his IM profile as well. I’m not sure what it means, but it certainly is true. It reminds me of a local concert I once went to, held in the basement of a church. I have three memories from that: One, the music was way too loud (and not good enough to be allowed to be so loud); two, I hit a priest in the butt with a Frisbee (not exactly earning good karma points here); and three, it was 4/20 – unofficial marijuana day – so a good chunk of people were not in their right minds.

Everyone thought I was high. I don’t know why. Maybe it had something to do with how, halfway through the concert, I found a fake sword in the kitchen. When you’ve got a sword, and lots of people that won’t remember whatever you’re doing right now in a few hours, suddenly you get this urge to charge. Or maybe that’s just me.

Needless to say, I spent a good part of the night charging through random crowds of people, threatening them with a fake sword. I got into a duel or two, actually, although I’m not sure to this day where the other swords came from. Towards the end, I was getting really good at clearing paths straight from one end of the room to the other. Finally, I decided to take on a more challenging opponent – a tree just up the stairs and outside.

I have to say that Sean’s statement rang true, even two years ago. I chopped and hacked and screamed, but the tree would not give into my awesome plastic sword. The tree… won.

People were giving me weird looks for a long time after that one.

